on Sunday I did this for me

I kind of fell off the wagon after my run. It really wore me out, I went back to bed till 4pm! I’m supposed to be running 5 days a week, with yoga on the two “off” days. But I’m obviously pushing a bit too hard. I’ll have to think about it.

In bed I finished my book, which was based on Y Gododdin, an epic Welsh account of the doomed battle between 300 Briton warriors and the Saxons, possibly dating back to the early 7th century. I got lost in Wikipedia and the internet in general, reading about early Welsh and interpretations of the text and attempts at dating it and Rosemary Sutcliff who is just the bee’s fucken knees when it comes to historical novels.

Eventually I got up and began preparing the pate aux pommes de terre I had planned for dinner. It takes 2.5 hours to cook, and came out looking rather good. Unfortunately even with the $9 pot of real French creme fraiche, it just didn’t taste as fantastic as I’d hoped. Sam and Bridget both said it was delicious but unless people are fighting for third helpings I always feel that it’s just politeness.

Once the pate was safely in the oven, I sat and did some embroidery whilst waiting for my dinner guests (I am turning into such an old lady…!). The green variegated thread I got yesterday is perfect for doing foliage. Unfortunately — as with the food — great materials didn’t compensate for any lack of skill. I can’t quite tell what I’ve done wrong but the leaves just don’t sit right. However, practice makes perfect. And I enjoyed doing them!

2 thoughts on “on Sunday I did this for me

  1. Paté de Pommes de terre needs lots of creme, that pot didn’t look big enough for the pictured dish. Otherwise it’s a matter of plenty of seasoning, and that about it. I haven’t made it for a while, …was it in the book from Poll?

    Reply
    • If the pot had been any bigger I would have had to take out a loan to buy it! 9 dollars for such a small pot… I think it was more that it lacked seasoning. I put nutmeg, salt, pepper and parsley between every layer of potato but I could probably have gone a bit crazier with the quantities. It wasn’t from that recipe book though, it was one I got off the internet.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

