running games

Run: Base + Interval
Time: 31min
Distance: 5.15km
Pace: 6:13 + 5:46

I ran so nicely on Thursday I was both excited and apprehensive about today. What if I started to hate it all over again? What if it was too hard? What if I just couldn’t do it?

I decided to focus on an enjoyable and comfortable run rather than speed, distance, or meeting the miCoach set goals. Remembering that it took me nearly 10 minutes to warm up last time, and that it wasn’t till 20 minutes in that I started to feel strong, I chose to start with a 20min warm-up run and then do the 20min intervals scheduled by miCoach for today.

Everything went very smoothly until it was time to step up to the yellow interval. I realised I was just exhausted and had been running for almost half an hour, so I decided I would just stop when I reached the “home” corner of the park. This coincidentally brought me to just clock 5km and meant I was happy with my results for the day, even though miCoach thinks I’m a slacker.

I need to take a closer look at my options and see if I can programme my own runs, which are then spoken to me by miCoach. Ideally I would like to warm up for 15 minutes running at a pace of about 6:15, then do 2min green, 1min yellow, 2min blue, repeat 2 or 3 times, and recover for 5-10 minutes. 5 minutes is definitely not enough for me to warm up.

2 thoughts on “running games

Leave a Reply

