shorts

Running has fallen out of favour with me, but I’m trying to work things out. We had such good times together — surely I’ll get back into it?

Remember that glorious Saturday evening when we ran 12km as if it was nothing, Stephen Fry reading HHGTTG to us? Wasn’t that lovely?

Today I woke up at 5, dismissed yoga (another once beloved friend of mine now repeatedly snubbed), slept till 7, thought about running, decided not to as I still don’t want to. At all. Pottered around the place, made breakfast and today’s snacks and meals according to my my new “diet” and thought about stuff — how I didn’t get my driver’s licence yesterday, how I’m leaving in 6 weeks and 3 days. How I have found a great person to take over my job, how I am going to teach James French somehow.

And once I’d stacked up my tupperware and cleaned the kitchen, I decided I felt smug and strong enough to go for a run.

Shortest run ever!

2km in 12:53. I walked about 2-3 minutes of that, but I ran harder to compensate for the fact that this was a single loop of the park. I can’t deal with the frustration of how slow I am. I should probably try doing a training programme again… It’s so hard to go back to the start, to ignore what came before. I did it once already last year, and within a couple of months I improved significantly. But there’s no denying the fact that I’m now back at the beginning once again. Not that I was ever terribly fast anyway… Sigh.

5 thoughts on “shorts

  1. First, I want to start off with a quote from Jesse Owens. I think it sums up running perfectly, “Running is real. It’s all joy and woe, hard as diamond. It makes you weary beyond comprehension, but it also makes you free.” I couldn’t put it better myself. I think it’s awesome that you ran. Do you know how many people think about running, but never do it? Me neither, but I am sure it is a alot. πŸ™‚ Take pride in the fact that you have done it before and you will do it again. Don’t think about starting over. Think about it as picking up where you left off. I don’t know if you have done the couch to 5k, but it’s a great program to start. I have a link to it from my site. You know how to do it already. It’s just about building back up again. Don’t worry about speed. It doesn’t matter how fast you go…just finish with a smile. Keep it up! Oh, and remember how you said it was the shortest run ever? Well, to many people that would be their longest run ever. Be proud of yourself. πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • Thanks for your comment πŸ™‚ I’m in a sort of uncomfortable middle-ground with running, as I can still pull out a 30-minute 5k, so the couch-to-5k programme seems a bit too easy for me. But obviously I have to stop thinking about the 10+km runs I was running a couple of months ago, and also stop thinking about distance/time/pace as they are completely ruining the experience for me at this point!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

