ghost run

Today I woke up with a sore scratchy throat. Not good. I don’t want to miss any more classes and I also knew there was no way I was missing the Metro Hash tonight. I’ve been drinking lots of fluids and getting lots of vitamin C, as well as gulping down some strange herbal remedies, including this concoction:

By the time I left the house at 6:30 this evening, I felt… no better. But who cares? It’s worth traveling one hour (1 bus, 2 trains) to get my Hash on.

Running in the dark, my handy little wind-up torch proved invaluable. See, it’s solar-powered, but as it’s been in the dark for weeks on end, it ran out of juice very quickly, and I had to hand-crank it as I scrambled through a mountainside Chinese graveyard in the dark, following a sporadic trail of flour dashed here and there.

Yes, a graveyard. Tonight started out fairly tame, as we followed the trail along the waterfront at Luzhou. Then suddenly the people up ahead of me veered sharply to the left and started running up ENDLESS steps, which took us to the top of a mountain, covered in traditional graves. There was little time for worrying about respect for the dead — my own torch was flickering, and I’d already lost one of my two companions when he fell behind. No way was I staying by myself in the middle of a graveyard in the dark. The trail led us over crumbling graves and the torches flashed here and there, with the occasional “On, on” being muttered somewhere up ahead. Then suddenly the cemetery was gone, and I was half running, half tumbling down a steep slope, and then we were back on the road again.

I don’t have any pictures (in the dark, running along the top of a gravestone, trying not to fall into the crumbling rocks around me, it really wasn’t possible), but here is the maps of my run. The mountain and cemetery were kilometres 3-4 I think.

And here, zoomed in, is the section through the graveyard. I’n glad to see we didn’t trample them too badly…

Oh how I love this whole Hash thing! I’m so glad that Rebecca introduced me to it. Running is only part of it. I am sorry I can’t crop this (ipad means limited editing options) but check out the elevation (in green) on this run!

PS – yesterday I forgot to update about my Karaoke class (“learning Chinese through music!”), which was great fun!

Leave a Reply

