challenge me

The Chinese speech contest is over and my holiday can begin at last!

Even though I was one of the first people (of nearly 60) to give my speech, I didn’t get home till almost 8:30pm. It was a long day… I didn’t win any prizes (although we all got 600NT as a “thank you” for our hard work, which was really nice), but I also didn’t screw up when doing my speech, which really is all I could hope for. I discovered that despite my confident and bouncy personality, when it came to standing on that stage for 5 minutes, I was petrified. My legs were shaking so badly they actually distracted me from my speech, because I felt like they were about to collapse beneath me.

Without exaggeration, it was one of the physically scariest moments of my life. I don’t know how to explain, because even though my brain was ok and my mouth continued to recite Chinese and focus on tones, my whole body was just shaking in fear. I was sure the judges could see my knees trembling.

But I survived, and my speech was nothing to be ashamed of, so I guess I should be less afraid in future. I almost feel like I should participate in more of these, so that my body learns to pull itself together. Whoever heard of such a fuss about nothing?

I want to try a couple of challenges, the 100 Push-Ups Challenge and the 200 Sit-Ups Challenge. I did the initial tests tonight, sort of, only I am not sure I am doing the push-ups and crunches with the correct form so I don’t know how much it should count. For the record, I did 4 push-ups, and possibly 50 crunches. I’m unsure about the crunches because 1, it seems unlikely that I should be able to do so many, although I suppose we do get 30-40 crunch drills thrown at us every week or so in yoga. And 2, I AM TERRIBLE at keeping track of my reps.

When I had the personal trainer, I am pretty sure he thought I was a moron, because I couldn’t count my own reps. We had a little ritual where he would ask me how many reps I was at, and I would say, “uh… 12?” and he would shake his head in disbelief, because it was either 7 or 30 but never, ever 12. He tried to lecture me several times on how I need to be counting them, but come on, what else was I paying $60 an hour, three hours a week, for him to do? I do the exercise, you do the maths. Simple.

Plus, I clearly just can’t count.

Leave a Reply

