underwhelmed

It seems I used up most of my enthusiasm on Wednesday night and the week went downhill from there. Yoga on Thursday was a bit of a struggle and I had to sit out the last couple of postures because my body was aching so much. I did my push-ups and crunches on Friday morning, and barely managed to increase my numbers (29 push-ups, 102 sit-ups). So I decided to not go to yoga on Friday night, which is a shame because it’s a nice bookend to my working week. Normally I study after class until yoga, and then get home about 9:30pm tired but relaxed and ready to start the weekend.

The main problem has been my classes. I don’t dislike the teacher or her methods, but we are studying the most inane, overdone topic in the history of learning Chinese: Chinese New Year. 1 – I have done this subject at least half a dozen times already over the years. 2 – the vocabulary is totally useless. I have no desire to discuss the different types of food that are eaten at CNY. I have no interest in dissecting the puns that accompany the festivities. 3 – this is definitely too easy compared to what we were doing by the end of last term. I feel like I am wasting my time and money.

I read an article last night that included the line “What doesn’t excite us makes us weaker.” This sums up how I feel entirely. I am not excited by my class in any way. Several people suggested to me last night that I should change classes, but there are only two other classes above ours, both are newspaper classes (which I do not find exciting), the easier one is at 8am (which I also do not find exciting) and the harder one is already packed beyond maximum capacity.

I have to wait for the scholarship announcement on the 20th of December. I don’t have much faith that I will actually get the stupid thing, and if I don’t, then I am tempted to get a refund on my remaining classes and do… something else.

Something else, following that age-old practice of brainstorming on Facebook, is currently a fantasy of moving to Chile. What do you mean I have never shown any interest in Latin America? Tintin and the Picaros was always one of my favourite Tintins!

Look, they’re running Hash!:

However, my immediate future involves spending Saturday in the library doing all my homework, and hopefully a swim as well. I wonder if I can smuggle my hot water bottle into the reading room?

One thought on “underwhelmed

  1. if you want to pick someone’s brain about Chile, my sister just came back from a semester in Santiago (and she traveled the fuck out of her weekends). i’ll put you guys in touch if you like.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

