I love lists

Today I woke up at 7:45 to do lots of useful and important things. Then realised that I didn’t really have anything urgent to do as I am still on holiday, and so I read my book until I fell back asleep, hypnotised by the rain drumming outside my window.

When I woke up again, it was nearly 2pm and after ascertaining that the library won’t be open again till tomorrow morning, realised nothing would get done without some form of motivation and so I composed a list, and I’m pleased to say it’s pretty much all been crossed off:

First: cook a couple of high-protein veggie recipes to keep in the fridge and freezer.

Recipe Uno was sweet potato and tuna cakes. These taste delicious. I ate three and it has been hard ignoring the rest.

2 cups of sweet potato, peeled and chopped
1 tin of tuna in spring water or brine, drained
2 eggs, lightly whisked
half a cup of breadcrumbs
salt and pepper to season
(makes 8 cakes)

I boiled and mashed the sweet potato, mixed in the other ingredients, and then gently fried them in a drop of olive oil. I slightly burnt the second batch (remember Rosie’s rule of cooking?) but as I am a freak who likes burnt carbs (overdone toast, blackened pizza, brown and crispy bubble-and-squeak… carcinogenic LOVE), whilst they don’t look so pretty, as far as I’m concerned the taste is even better. I’m going to keep them in the fridge and hope that they heat up ok, to eat with a 7-11 bagged salad and a boiled egg. I don’t eat enough fish but this was pretty awesome so I’ll definitely make it again.

Second recipe was Sweet Potato, Spinach and Lentil Curry. I panic-purchased a lot of sweet potatoes in the run-up to Chinese New Year, so I had to use them up! I made the curry in my usual very unimaginative fashion, ie. sweat onions in oil, curry powder and cumin powder; throw in the veg and lentils plus boiling water; simmer until everything is melting and delicious. The spinach wasn’t exactly spinach, I think — it was the last, soggy-looking bag of greens left in the supermarket, but it’s not like wilted greens ever taste particularly spectacular, so I chucked them in for extra nutrients. I am full from the tuna cakes, so I just had a taste and decided it was good. Into the freezer it goes!

Second and third item on the list: tidy room and sort clothes. Done. This is fairly huge for me. Everything is on hangers! Nothing is on the floor! Even my underwear is sorted! Everything is clean!

Four: Nike Training Club workout. Done. I chose just a 30min workout hoping that it won’t leave me wrecked for three days like last time, but judging how my legs are shaking after all those squats… Still, I’m hoping I will feel good enough for a tiny little 4km run tomorrow.

Five: prepare characters for lesson 7. I haven’t finished this yet, but am getting into it now.

Six: Download ALL the podcasts. I actually did this first, as it was essential to achieving the other items. I listened to lots of Answer Me This and The Infinite Monkey Cage today.

Lists. Best thing ever.

2 thoughts on “I love lists

Leave a Reply

