nasty hlb style

I have a weakness for Healthy Living Blogs. I mainly hate-read them because I enjoy wasting my time engaging in snark, although some of them I read because I genuinely like the writers. However it wasn’t always like this; once upon a time they were inspiration for my own running/healthy lifestyle.

Today I made something that is probably terrifying enough to be worthy of a HLB pseudo-healthy recipe (most of them are so far removed from real, healthy food it’s hilarious). However, I made mine because I am lazy and don’t have easy access to the real thing, rather than out of any desire to “healthify” a guilty food. In fact, I ate a McFlurry whilst out on my post-swim (1600m) walk (5.5km) today, which possibly inspired me…

I bring you: cinnamon raisin protein fro-yo.

  • 100ml AB sugar-free yoghurt
  • 1 heaping tablespoon of pea protein
  • a buttload of cinnamon
  • a sprinkling of raisins
  • half a banana and tsp of sunflowers seeds to garnish
  • Using a small glass bowl (speeds up the freezing), add the ingredients one at a time. Whip the protein powder into the yoghurt until completely blended, then add cinnamon and whip again.
    Taste — is it cinnamon-y enough to hide the foulness of the protein powder? if not, add another buttload of cinnamon (there is no such thing as too much cinnamon in my world), then stir in the raisins.
    Place in the freezer. Stir every 10 minutes, scraping down the frozen sides, making sure to get plenty of air in there.
    Once it’s reached the consistency of frozen yoghurt, add chopped banana and sunflower seeds and eat eat eat.

    Sound horrible enough? I even took a blurry picture of nasty-lookin’ tastiness for you. 200 calories and 10g of protein by the way, as well as tasting sinful.

    (I know, I know. One week of silence and THIS is what I post? Nobody’s exactly hanging off the edge of their seats waiting for my blog to update, but this is hardly interesting content. Well, I have some secret projects that I am keeping quiet about until they come to fruition… just in case they don’t. But I will update like CRAY-ZEE when I do have news.)

    Extra reminder of why “healthy living” is so stupid (although I hate both the women below, I still know which one I’d rather be…):

    Leave a Reply

    