love

Every time I come back to Hong Kong, the vague affection for this city which I carry around year in, year out, explodes into something bordering on obsessive love. Due to budgetary restrictions I hadn’t been here since my 27th birthday, nearly 2 years ago, and the light in my heart may never go out but it had dwindled somewhat. Now that I am back, especially after 9 months in Taiwan (my god, has it really been that long?), Hong Kong’s glory is all the more spectacular. Love! I even revel in the noise of the traffic and a/c units humming outside my window. The traffic in Hong Kong sounds different from anywhere else I have lived.

Of course, it helps that Hong Kong is synonymous with Supermates…

I was second-guessing my decision to move to Hong Kong after Taiwan, but I think it was mainly due to the fear of taking on a dreary office job in order to earn a living. I’m glad I get to stay on in Taiwan for a few more months, as the work I am doing brings me closer every day to finding what it is I want to do. Eleven years ago, my philosophy teacher (an otherwise hateful man, who made the compulsory 8 hours a week of philosophy lessons a chore…) presented us with a text on Existentialism by Kierkegaard which resonated ever so strongly in my rebellious teenaged heart. I always remember it in French, as that is the language in which I copied it out, word for word, in blanco onto my L’Etudiant diary, in order to memorise it with a passion which my teachers probably felt could have been diverted into more sanctified topics, especially the bit about “Et quel profit aurais-je de me bourrer à fond des systèmes des philosophes et de pouvoir, au besoin, les passer en revue, d’en pouvoir montrer les inconséquences dans chaque problème?”. However, for clarity’s sake, I will provide the most famous extract in English here (not in Tip-Ex):

What I really need is to get clear about what I must do, not what I must know, except insofar as knowledge must precede every act. What matters is to find a purpose, to see what it really is that God wills that I shall do; the crucial thing is to find a truth which is truth for me, to find the idea for which I am willing to live and die.

Anyone who knows me knows of my loathing for religion, so we will quietly overlook the whole “God” thing, because it’s obviously just a symbol of something broader and difficult to put into words. I suppose it could be called “the Universe” maybe… Anyway, I digress. I feel that I am moving gently towards whatever it is that I am meant to be doing, towards finding a truth which is true for me. And now, amongst all that reflection, I am late, as I am meeting Cici at Central in 40min, exit F for FUN!

4 thoughts on “love

  1. It’s strange the places we love and feel happiest in, I find that kind of connection with Manama in Bahrain, Dubai, and Kuala Lumpur but not so much with Hong Kong and not at all with Shenzhen.

    I too am slowly becoming clear about what I must do… though whether it’s any form of truth I don’t yet know.

    Great post, it got me thinking. 🙂

    Reply
    • Thanks, the thoughtfulness came out of nowhere but was very satisfying… Funnily enough I was discussing Manama just this evening with a friend who was there for 4 months last year! my own experience was fairly limited — a week 6 years ago — but he loved it there. I cannot imagine anyone having a meaningful connection with Shenzhen though…

      Reply
  2. Hong Kong is my place too. Though for me is aplace where I could hang out without any purpose, which is good before making decisions:) Love it. Both – HK and your post 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

