stinky-skinny-fat

It’s been a while! I have been nursing my knees and feeling sorry for myself, as the best running weather gently passes me by. It’s been a good 4 months since I ran myself into injury, and I have rested enough. To be honest, there has been no improvement, and I think that not exercising makes my knees worse. I know, I know, I was supposed to take up swimming. But swimming is mafan. And expensive. And dull.

Also, whilst I can’t deny I like the fact that I have lost even more weight since I stopped exercising, the truth is I’m actually becoming skinny-fat because I’ve lost all those running muscles.

So I went for a nice long run!

Just kidding. I walked to the gym and jogged 0.8km on the treadmill, in EIGHT MINUTES. I would have liked to make it to the 1km point before admitting defeat, but the pain in my knees decided otherwise. However, I did hammer out 4km on the elliptical so it wasn’t a complete waste of time.

BUT GOD I MISS RUNNINGGGGGG

To be honest, I am not convinced my knee pains are really connected to my running (although the stress fracture is definitely due to over-training). Both the doctors I saw about my knees were quite rude and didn’t want to listen about my history, focusing instead on how I had been running too much. I have been reading about the relation between psoriasis and colitis (both of which I am blessed with) and whilst I don’t want to use the internet to self-diagnose, I am wondering if my joint pain/inflammation could tie into them as yet another autoimmune reaction — I’m so lucky! 3 for the price of 1! Of course I would like to discuss this with a doctor, but I think it’s something that I will have to deal with when I am in a country with free healthcare, preferably Australia.

Anyway, in my experience, the best way to alleviate autoimmune disease symptoms is to exercise regularly and eat well (and I suppose sleep well, sigh). So I think it’s time to end these 4 months of “resting”. I’m not going to run through pain, but as long as it doesn’t hurt, I am going to ease back into running now. Next goal: jog an ENTIRE kilometre!

One thought on “stinky-skinny-fat

  1. Ah, knees. Yes. Standing in my kitchen I turned and something in my knee snapped. Ow. Four months later, I’m back to exercise class, but it’s iffy. Such delicate instruments….Sorry you miss running, but there are so many other forms of exercise….like yoga….very good for joints…I’ve had Lyme disease 3 or 4 times….so, the joints have been affected. Being in a body ain’t easy. Good luck. Try not to force it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

