Ma-ma-madrid

So exciting to think that in a week I will be on my way to France, and in two weeks, I will be in Madrid! Yes, I know, you didn’t see that one coming, and you may well be considering adding it to the list of destinations I’m going to and then change my mind about (see: Melbourne; Hong Kong; Thailand). But I have actually coughed up the cash and bought a ticket, so it will definitely (well 85% sure, based on previous experiences) happen. And do you know why? Because I am going to see my favourite family in the world: Ally, Juan and Nalia!

This is my last week more or less in Taiwan and I am well caught up on work, despite procrastination issues which may or may not have led to me being renamed “Facebook Diarrhea” on the China Hash this weekend. I have some small regrets about throwing myself into all that mud on Sunday, as the run was really more of a “Tough Mudder”-type obstacle course for me. I ran for probably the first half and then just gave up and tried to crawl/slide up and down muddy banks without aggravating my grumbling shin further. But I survived, thanks to Voltaren and plenty of rest, and I plan on having a couple more runs before I leave regardless — including a Super Secret Sunday run with with a minor celebrity. Stay tuned!

Looking optimistic at the start!
Photobucket

There was a LOT of mud shifted around on trail
Photobucket

6 thoughts on “Ma-ma-madrid

  1. Enjoy in Madrid it is a nice city, I love the “old” town, Palacio real and surroundings, barrio de la latina…. so Enjoy it!!! Greetings from Barcelona nicest than Madrid šŸ˜›

    Reply
    • Thanks Miquel! I went to Madrid once 15 years ago (oh how ancient I feel saying this…) but haven’t been back since, so I am looking forward to it. I do have plans to maybe go to Barcelona later this summer with a friend of mine, as I have heard lots and lots of good things about it!

      Reply
  2. Everybody love Barcelona, unless you are victim of a burglar or pickpocket (it is our bad thing) you’ll be welcome, and sure you will enjoy, feel free to have your “guide” on me! I love Barcelona !!

    Reply
    • Thanks! You could maybe even show me a cool running trail šŸ˜€ and I’ll look out for pickpockets… up until now I’ve always had good luck and even when they steal my stuff I get it back, mustn’t let them win!

      Reply
      • Sure!! hahha!! Barcelona is surrounded by hills, and I live surrounded by 1700 meters mountain, whats more in 3 weeks I’m going to Vall de Nuria to run at almost 3000meters !!! love mountains!! as you can see!! šŸ˜‰

      • Haha I just commented on your post about trails… I love fighting my way up and down mountains, that was how I injured myself when I was preparing for a race that was all mountains… Taipei is also surrounded by crazy peaks. Good luck with the Vall de Nuria! My friend lives near the Manzanares Regional Park, so I am hoping I will be able to have a nice run out there…

Leave a Reply

