kittens kilometres and cassis

My mother has rescued three kittens. Our oversized deerhounds are mystified and occasionally terrified by them.

Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
The kittens are named Archer (a very handsome black kitten, utterly fearless but rather stupid), Lana (a gorgeous tabby kitten, my favourite), and Cyril Figgis (a rather ugly, shy black kitten with a bald patch).
Here they are investigating my brother’s bedroom (my bed).
Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
Raphael threatened Archer, so Lana pissed on my duvet. Bitch.
Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
Today Raph ran 3 km with me, then I followed another trail and ran another 7km by myself. The deerhounds, Bessie and Guiney, ran with me most of the way, but Bessie seems to have developed some sort of cancer in the last few weeks and is barely able to trot. She is swollen and looks more like a goat or a small cow, and I felt so sorry for her that I had to stop every kilometre or so and let her catch up with us. I dropped them off at the house at kilometre 7, and reached 10km sans dogs. I felt good when I got home, but tonight my shins are aching. I hope they feel better tomorrow.

Mummy and I went to visit my sister Polly’s house, a teensy little railway shack she is now the proud owner of.
Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
She’s right by the railway line, but there are only a couple of trains a day.
Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
It’s a little run-down but we grew up in a similar environment so it’s not that daunting. At least she has an outhouse!
Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
A few kilometres down the road is the beautiful Plan du Causse, a large lake that boasts plenty of summertime activities. We know that come winter it’s not so fun living out in the countryside, but still, nobody can complain about having a beautiful lake nearby.
Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
Being obsessed with running at the moment, I kept wishing I could speed off down these paths…
Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
And then as we drove back through Brive-la-Gaillarde (the nearest town), we stopped at the pet shop, as my mother cannot resist a pet shop. There was a puppy show on!
Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
We also admired the Korean squirrels
Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
And the bunnies.
Photobucket Pictures, Images and Photos
I did take pictures yesterday of our eclectic collection of chickens, but I think that’s enough animals for today. We drove home discussing in depth what sort of dog I want, when I eventually get a dog, concluding that I wanted a short-haired, lean, medium-sized, not too skinny, non-purebreed dog, preferably adopted from a rescue shelter, who can run fast but isn’t a hunting dog. Easy! now all I need is to chose a country, career, house etc and I’m done.

Leave a Reply

