Galle Face Hotel

On Sunday I caught up with Vijay (of Galle fame) and we had lunch at the Bavarian (where the German cooking is… German). After lunch, I couldn’t resist the call of the ocean — the Bavarian is right opposite the Galle Face Hotel and of course Galle Face Green.

It doesn’t look all that impressive as you approach.
Photobucket
There are dozens of little vendor stalls along the promenade.
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
But of course I was interested in one thing above all… the ocean!
Photobucket
The water was fairly choppy, I love this picture, it reminds me of a painting that hung in my grandparents’ dining-room.
Photobucket
I went down to the edge to dip my toes.
Photobucket
Cos waves always get me excited and messy…
Photobucket
Families lined up to face the crashing and unpredictable waves, holding hands so as not to get bowled over or carried away
Photobucket
You can never tell how quick, deep or fast the waves will come — nearly everyone there was soaked to the skin!
Photobucket

Post beach, Vijay and I were both covered in sand so we dropped into the Galle Face Hotel to rinse off our feet. The hotel is tremendously proud of its old timey atmosphere. It was established in 1868 and has several plaques boasting of various celebrities (at least, celebrities when Sri Lanka was still Ceylon, anyway).

I did recognise a couple though! Arthur C. Clarke completed 3001: the Final Odyssey here.
Photobucket
Photobucket
The problem with the Galle Face Hotel is that it sucks you in with its Old World Charms…
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

Following the consumption of a couple of Old World Charms, we headed down to the water’s edge again, to find some chairs and wait for the sun to set. It was very windy and the ocean spray kept making me jump…

Photobucket
Photobucket
I was intrigued by this somewhat decrepit tower next to the swimming pool. Can you spot on the top left hand corner, a soldier, and in front of him, a sub-machine gun, draped in plastic (because of the salty ocean winds!).
Photobucket
A little friend who shared my snacks:
Photobucket
At last the sun began to set… it did not disappoint.
Photobucket
Photobucket
I jumped in with my flappy dress again!
Photobucket
Facebook friends have seen this one already
Photobucket
I couldn’t believe how pink the sky was… gorgeous
Photobucket
Photobucket
I blame the numerous pictures of me on the Old World Charm…

Photobucket

Leave a Reply

