august

A conspicuous absence of updates in the past few months. I am not a fan of winter and even less so in the Southern Hemisphere, because July and August should be full of long, glorious sunny warm days, and instead here in Melbourne it has been ridiculously cold.

This doesn’t mean I have not done anything, fortunately!

I’ve made this a photo-based update rather than the other way around. This tends to work better for summarising an entire month. But this makes it very photo-heavy, so brace yourselves. What am I saying! I am showing my age… Back in the day it was common courtesy to warn before dumping pictures but now… who’d even notice?

Sooo backing up a bit to July:

I went to see the last performance of Mikelangelo and the Tin Stars, aka the only band I’ve ever truly enjoyed watching live.
 photo IMG_1284.jpg

I got a haircut, hoping my curls could be coaxed back, but they seem to have been the exclusive domaine of my twenties and I am resigning myself to not having curly hair anymore.
 photo IMG_1297.jpg

I bought some expensive cycling shorts and before I’d even worn them once, managed to cut a hole in them whilst removing annoying tags:
 photo IMG_1319.jpg

My cold morning runs were dark dark dark but I kept running until the sun came up:
 photo IMG_1355.jpg
 photo IMG_1357.jpg

I invested in a lot of merino from Icebreaker — it keeps me warm as toast, and it’s like having a hug from James as he is the one who got me into Icebreaker in the first place.
 photo IMG_1342.jpg

More love from James came in the form of 3 kilos of birthday Kitkats, delivered anonymously to my desk at work.
JulAug10 photo IMG_1393.jpg

I had a lovely night out catching up with my friends Magnus, Thomas and Alastair. This sculpture hangs in the kitchen of Tom’s warehouse.
 photo IMG_1372.jpg

More pics taken when out running — I do so love living so close to Merri Creek. It may be less dark…
JulAug12 photo IMG_1404.jpg
…palm trees may sway against a backdrop of brilliant blue skies…
JulAug13 photo IMG_1405.jpg
…but trust me it’s just as cold as the pre-dawn runs.
JulAug14 photo IMG_1406.jpg

Preparing vast amounts of caramelised onion for my birthday high tea. In the end I made around 4 times too much and I’ve still got about a kilo of it in the fridge.
JulAug15 photo IMG_1408.jpg

I also roast my first chicken for said tea party (to make adorable mini-sandwiches). Fiona came home in time to egg me into eating roast chicken skin for the first and last time in years — I don’t think I’ve eaten it since I was a child! It tasted simultaneously delicious, decadent, and nauseatingly rich. No regrets.
JulAug16 photo IMG_1409.jpg

Making Pimm’s cake from Siobhan’s recipe!
JulAug17 photo IMG_1422.jpg

Here I am in my party frock, with friends in the background hard at work.
 photo image-3.jpeg

The dress is a gorgeous brocade shot through with gold thread – hard to photograph, so you will have to trust me!
 photo IMG_1387.jpg

My 30th birthday high tea was lovely, but I failed to take any proper pictures. Here are a few I salvaged off other people!

 photo image_3.jpeg
 photo 995150_10152060041109056_973780589_n.jpg

Rebecca made these fabulous mini-pavlovas
 photo 5b267b51-45af-4742-ac9e-66da9af6db30.jpg

My actual 30th birthday was a Monday and the first day of school. I ate a delicious leftover cupcake for breakfast (actually I ate mostly cake for the entire week, as there were a lot of cupcakes and cake leftover).
JulAug18 photo IMG_1435.jpg

There were relatively few events during school that I could photograph, as it was Preventive Conservation (which I think is going to Be My Thing, career-wise) and so the exciting stuff was mostly confidential site visits. I took a lot of pictures anyway, and am sharing just a couple of tantalising shots below, but I can’t tell you where they are of course…

JulAug26 photo IMG_1480.jpg

JulAug24 photo IMG_1451.jpg

We did a few interested lab sessions, one about salvaging paper after floods:
JulAug22 photo IMG_1445.jpg
JulAug21 photo IMG_1444.jpg

Another was on cleaning mould:
JulAug28 photo IMG_1493.jpg
JulAug29 photo IMG_1494.jpg
 photo IMG_1495.jpg
JulAug31 photo IMG_1496.jpg

We had a go at preparing Oddy tests too (which were difficult to photograph as we were in a hurry, hence the blurriness and someone’s fluffy sleeve:
JulAug33 photo IMG_1503.jpg

Some fun times outside of school: finding the cat in my backpack…
 photo IMG_1439.jpg

And being greeted with this fantastic scene on a morning run (it’s the Orthodox Greek Cathedral, which I often run past, but which really glows when the sun hits it right!):
JulAug27 photo IMG_1492.jpg

Running has unsurprisingly resulted in shin splints again, so I am taking a break and giving kinesiotherapy tape a go. I do feel like it works pretty well in relieving the pain, if not in solving the problem.
JulAug35 photo IMG_1506.jpg

I got an amazing book of bike rides around Melbourne from my beloved Rebecca as a birthday gift. I decided to go check out Port Phillip Bay.
JulAug37 photo IMG_1513.jpg

Brace yourselves for many pictures of the sea!
JulAug38 photo IMG_1526.jpg
 photo IMG_1534.jpg
JulAug41 photo IMG_1536.jpg
JulAug42 photo IMG_1551.jpg
JulAug44 photo IMG_1554.jpg
JulAug45 photo IMG_1556.jpg
JulAug46 photo IMG_1557.jpg

This bit of road was flooding, which made riding through it extra fun!
JulAug43 photo IMG_1552.jpg
JulAug47 photo IMG_1558.jpg
JulAug48 photo IMG_1559.jpg

Picnic on the pier!
JulAug49 photo IMG_1561.jpg

On my way home I passed these lovely Scottish deerhounds which mummy will appreciate:
JulAug52 photo IMG_1565.jpg

Ok that’s all the photos I have! I have not been photodocumenting things much in the past week — I was too wrapped up in my work situation. But now we have waded through all of this: I have accepted a new job with a cultural study tour company, and will start in October. I will be researching and designing cultural tours all around the world, and I’m really excited and glad that I’ve made the leap. It was a big decision to quit my current job but now it’s finalised I realise it’s the best choice I could have made!

2 thoughts on “august

Leave a Reply

